Sacramento Rideshare Lawyer
What Should Do If You Get in an Accident with an Uber/Lyft Driver?
Motor Vehicle Accidents Law in California outlines a standard procedure for auto accident victims. Getting into an accident with an Uber/Lyft driver works follows a similar process. If you get into a ridesharing accident, you need to:
Stop the vehicle and make sure no one got injured.
Call 911, report the accident and wait for law enforcement to arrive.
Exchange contact information with other drivers and witnesses present (this includes their name, contact number, address, VIN, license plate number, driving license number, and insurance information).
Share details of the accident with the responding officers and ask them to file an official auto accident report. If you have suffered injuries, you can describe these to the law enforcement officers too.
Make a record of the time and location of the incident. You can take pictures of the accident site, and damage to the vehicle and any property.
If you were in a rideshare accident, werecommend talking to our rideshare accident lawyer in Sacramento, Santa Rosa, or Oakland. The rideshare accident attorneys at Cutter Law Firm specialize in rideshare accidents claims. Our rideshare accident attorneys possess over 50 years of experience in representing personal injury victims and overcoming any potential challenges in filing a successful claim.
Who Is Liable in a Rideshare Accident?
There are three parties involved in a ridesharing accident. These include the victim, the driver, and the ridesharing service that has contracted the driver’s services.
Ridesharing accident victims can file a personal injury lawsuit whether they are:
A passenger utilizing ridesharing services
A driver in another vehicle
A pedestrian injured in a collision with a ridesharing vehicle
According to the App-Based Drivers as Contractors and Labor Policies Initiative (also known as California Proposition 22), ridesharing services such as Uber and Lyft classify their drivers as independent contractors. However, it requires them to adopt specific wage and labor policies that protect employee rights. Hire rideshare accident lawyer in Sacramento from Cutter Law Firm and Get Closure Today!
Depending on an accident's circumstances, these ridesharing companies may not be subject to personal injury lawsuits.However, you can still recover damages from the driver’s personal liability insurance.
California Proposition 22 also requires Uber and Lyft to provide occupational accident insurance to drivers. The insurance policy offers a minimum coverage of at least $1 million for medical bills and lost income resulting from accidents while the driver was on the job at the time of the accident. Get in touch with one of our rideshare accident attorney for more information
You might be able to file a claim against such insurance policies if:
You suffered injuries in a ridesharing accident
Your injuries were due to the driver’s negligent driving
The driver had their ridesharing app on
Even if the driver was underinsured or uninsured, you might still be able to file a claim for damages. Get in touch with one of our rideshare accident attorneys for more information on how you can start the process.
What Type of Damages Can We Help You Claim?
Ridesharing accidents can lead to a variety of moderate to severe injuries. These include traumatic brain injuries, fractures, internal injuries, whiplash, joint dislocation, cardiovascular injuries, and more.
You may have to take a few days off from work while you recuperate, as well. Severe ridesharing accidents can also leave you debilitated for life or cause you to suffer from PTSD (Post-traumatic stress disorder) symptoms.
California law accounts for all these injuries. Itallows you to file for economic and non-economic damages suffered in a ridesharing accident. You can get compensated for:
Loss of income
Loss of earning capacity
Cost of repair or replacement of the vehicle
Ongoing medical expenses
Pain and suffering
Loss of intimate relations/consortium
According to California state law, there is no limit to the maximum compensation you can receive for these damages. However, if you are ridesharing accident victim who had a car collision with an Uber/Lyft driver, you must have auto insurance. If you don’t, you will not qualify for non-economic damages.
Non-economic damages are hard to calculate. If you are unsure about the non-economic damages you suffered, you can get in touch with an rideshare accident lawyer at Cutter Law Firm.
We can help ensure you receive full and fair compensation for your losses. Our rideshare accident attorney can help you figure out the best course of action. Our rideshare accident attorneys have recovered $500 million in personal injury claims so far and can help you get the justice you deserve too. We go out of our way to investigate each personal injury claim and hold the liable party accountable for their actions.